Featured: The Lighthouse Mapping Project - > Explore the Interactive Lighthouse Map
Lighthouse Location
You can zoom out to see the full world map of Lighthouses, or even try dragging Pegman onto the map to see the Lighthouse on Street View.
Featured: The Lighthouse Mapping Project - > Explore the Interactive Lighthouse Map
Ukraine
The lighthouse is installed at the end of the Raidovy Mole in Odessa. It is the front beacon of the alignment leading to the entrance to the inner part of the Odessa port. It was founded on the initiative of the Novorossiysk and Bessarabian Governor-General Count M. S. Vorontsov. Began to operate on July 1, 1845.
* 1845 - First wooden lighthouse
* 1863 - Cast iron lighthouse built (see photo from Sarych See about Sarych http://www.ibiblio.org/lighthouse/crms.htm)
* 1888 - Lighthouse significantly rebuilt (see photo 1888)
* 1941 - Destroyed during the defense of Odessa
* 1954 - Modern tower built
In 1862, a new cast-iron tower was ordered for the lighthouse at the Gouin factory in France. On November 8, 1863, on the day of the opening of the monument to Count M. S. Vorontsov in Odessa, the consecration of a new lighthouse on the Quarantine Mole took place. With the permission of Emperor Alexander II, the lighthouse was named Vorontsovsky in memory of the merits of the former Governor-General, who petitioned for navigational fencing of approaches to the port of Odessa.
The source of light in the lighthouse was a diopter light-optical apparatus (4th order) with a constant white light, interrupted every minute by red flashes. The height of the fire from sea level was 13.2 m, and from the base 9 m. The visibility range reached 7.6 miles.
A new lighthouse with a metal tower and equipment of the 3rd category was required. It was made on a competitive basis by a branch of the French company "San-Galli" in St. Petersburg. The old tower was dismantled and sent for storage to Nikolaev. After 10 years, it was repaired and installed at Cape Sarych, where it still serves reliably.
See about Sarych https://new.opengreenmap.org/browse/sites/62cc82cd81b6d40100043ecc
The new lighthouse began operating on 20 November 1888. It illuminated the entire sea horizon with white fire with red and white flashes alternately every minute. The visibility range of the fire was 14 miles. The light sources were kerosene wicks, and then ketsosine-incandescent lamps.
ARLHS UKR-033; UA-0340; Admiralty N5082; NGA 17912.
| Manufacture Date | 1866 |
|---|---|
| Lighthouse Construction | 1863 (1868) |
| Country | Ukraine |
| Lens Order | 4th order |
| Status | publish |
| Light Character | Modern lighthouse: Fl.(3)R. 12s. three red flashes every 12 s. |
| Lighthouse Markings | Modern lighthouse: 26 m (85 ft) round cylindrical cast iron or steel tower with lantern and gallery, rising from a 1-story concrete building. The lighthouse is white; lantern painted red. |
| Coastal Erosion Vulnerability | |
| Open Status (Tower) | Closed |
| Coordinates | 46.4964863113,30.7600611771 |
| Data Source | * The Lighthouse Work of Sir James T. Chance (APPENDIX): 4th order - 1866 - Richelevsky Mole, Odessa - Fixed * Lighthouses of Russia (Historical Essays). GUNiO MO RF edition, St. Petersburg, 2001, the authors, A.A. Komaritsin, V.I. Koryakin, V.G. Romanov. |
You can zoom out to see the full world map of Lighthouses, or even try dragging Pegman onto the map to see the Lighthouse on Street View.