Featured: The Lighthouse Mapping Project - > Explore the Interactive Lighthouse Map
Lighthouse Location
You can zoom out to see the full world map of Lighthouses, or even try dragging Pegman onto the map to see the Lighthouse on Street View.
Featured: The Lighthouse Mapping Project - > Explore the Interactive Lighthouse Map
United Kingdom
Strumble Head Lighthouse stands imposingly on Ynysmeicl (St. Michael's Island), an islet to the west of Fishguard, separated from the mainland by a very narrow gap through which the sea boils and froths in stormy weather.
The station was built for the greater safety of sea traffic between Ireland and Fishguard Harbour, located behind cliffs and a breakwater three miles to the east. The light also formed a link with South Bishop light, 18 miles to the south-west. This stretch of coast is very dangerous, and some 60 vessels are known to have been lost along it in the 19th Century alone.
The original revolving lens system weighed 4½ tons, supported in a bath of mercury to reduce friction. A massive clockwork mechanism rotated it, driven by a quarter-ton weight which, suspended on a cable, dropped gradually down a cylinder running from top to bottom through the tower and had to be re-wound every 12 hours. The optical system was replaced by more compact equipment when Strumble Head lighthouse was fully electrified in 1965.
Despite the footbridge to the mainland across the narrow sound, Ynsymeicl's isolation and steep slopes set building problems typical of more remote rock towers. Building material and regular supplies were swung across by jackstay cable, between the winches near the cliff-top on the mainland and beside the lighthouse. The handrail of the footbridge and the steps to it also had a special purpose, as the pipeline to carry oil into the tower basement.
Strumble Head Lighthouse was converted to unmanned automatic operation in 1980. The lighthouse is now monitored and controlled from Trinity House’s Planning Centre in Harwich, Essex.
| Manufacture Date | 1907 |
|---|---|
| Lighthouse Construction | 1908 |
| Country | United Kingdom |
| Commissioning Body | Trinity House |
| Lens Order | 1st order |
| Lens Type | Revolving |
| Status | publish |
| Light Character | Fl (4) 15s |
| Lighthouse Markings | cylindrical white tower with balcony and lantern |
| Lighthouse Parts | none |
| Management Body Ports Authority | Site manager: Pembrokeshire Coast National Park |
| Preserver | Operator: Trinity House. |
| Coastal Erosion Vulnerability | |
| Open Status (Site) | Closed |
| Open Status (Tower) | Closed |
| Coordinates | 52.0297345948,-5.0737892536 |
| Other | Site and tower closed. |
| Data Source | Chance Lighthouses (1856-1917) (61 years) |
You can zoom out to see the full world map of Lighthouses, or even try dragging Pegman onto the map to see the Lighthouse on Street View.