Featured: The Lighthouse Mapping Project - > Explore the Interactive Lighthouse Map
Lighthouse Location
You can zoom out to see the full world map of Lighthouses, or even try dragging Pegman onto the map to see the Lighthouse on Street View.
Featured: The Lighthouse Mapping Project - > Explore the Interactive Lighthouse Map
Australia
The lantern and 4th order fixed optical apparatus were supplied by Chance Brothers Ltd, England at a cost of 156 pounds. The lighthouses was staffed by a single keeper who announced the arrival of ships by raising a flag. At midday a time ball was dropped from the signal staff.
Harry Geater was the last employed light keeper at Grassy Hill lighthouse, serving from 1922-1927. Harry, his wife, Florence, and four daughters enjoyed their happy mainland life. The older girls had attended school with their long walk each day carefully watched over by Harry and his lighthouse telescope and a megaphone to hurry them along!
Florence enjoyed the social life and services that a town provided. With their newly born daughter, the Geater family left their only town posting and moved to Goods Island (Palilag) in the Torres Strait.
In 1927 the light was converted from its original Farquher 2 wick kerosene burner to an acetylene open flame flasher and automated. It remained in this operational configuration into the 1980’s, a testament to the reliability and efficiently of the acetylene system used in many of the smaller lights.
The threat of the losing the lighthouse galvanised the Cooktown community in 1987. Faced with the Government’s plan to decommission the facility, a group of residents believing the Lighthouse to be of great local, national and international significance campaigned for nearly a year to save the Lighthouse for the community and visitors into the future. Receiving substantial media attention, support came from all over Australia.
In 1988 the Lighthouse and the area around it, was “sold” to the Cooktown people for $100. The lighthouse remains operation and is maintained by Queensland Maritime.
| Manufacture Date | 1885 |
|---|---|
| Lighthouse Construction | 1886 |
| Country | Australia |
| Lens Order | 4th order |
| Lens Type | Fixed |
| Status | publish |
| Light Character | Grp. Fl. White (2) 6.0 sec |
| Lighthouse Markings | Timber frame clad with corrugated galvanised steel sheet on a concrete base. |
| Management Body Ports Authority | Queensland Maritime |
| Coastal Erosion Vulnerability | |
| Open Status (Site) | Open |
| Open Status (Tower) | Closed |
| Coordinates | -15.4608565422,145.2553510562 |
| Other | Additional photos: https://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/details/lights/1000016046/_:54c94c98a09dd9fc1be73b78dc792f6b ARLHS AUS-083; Admiralty K3208; NGA 9868 |
| Data Source | Chance Lighthouses (1856-1917) (61 years), David Encill's list 1856-316 |
You can zoom out to see the full world map of Lighthouses, or even try dragging Pegman onto the map to see the Lighthouse on Street View.